The American Black Film Festival (ABFF) produces talent discovery programs to introduce diverse new artists to the industry at large. With the support of leading media companies and corporate brands, it has launched many successful programs that have brought to light some of the industry’s most promising actors, writers, directors and stand-up comedians over the past 20 years. Through this initiative, the ABFF has earned great credibility and goodwill within the Hollywood community.

Accomplished alumni from the various talent competitions and showcases include: Ryan Coogler (Creed, Fruitvale Station), Omari Hardwick (Power, Being Mary Jane), Saladin K. Patterson (The Big Bang Theory, Frasier), Ben Watkins (Hand of God, Burn Notice), Tessa Thompson (Westworld, Creed), Steven Caple Jr. (The Land, Emmett Till), Andre Royo (Empire, The Wire) and Emayatzy Corinealdi (Miles Ahead, Roots); and comedians Craig Robinson, J.B. Smoove, Rickey Smiley and Kevin Hart. Additionally, producer Will Packer (Think Like A Man, Straight Outta Compton) debuted his first film, Trois, at the ABFF in 1999 and has gone on to produce at least 10 films that have opened at #1 at the box office, including Ride Along, Takers and Think Like A Man.




Comedy Wings


Meeting with HBO’s Comedy Development department

TV One Screenplay Competition


$5,000 and the opportunity to have screenplay developed and produced to premier at the 2018 ABFF.

NBC Hosting Workshop


Top selected participant(s) will receive the opportunity to conduct media and/or celebrity interviews during the ABFF 2017 in Miami, Florida, one (1) festival credential and airfare to the ABFF and meeting with NBCU Talent Executives from E! and Bravo TV.

ABFF Greenlighters Academy


Participants will be flown to the 2017 ABFF in Miami. Lodging and ground transportation will be provided.

Star Project


Winner will receive trip to the 2017 ABFF in Miami, introductions to NBCUniversal Casting Executives and $1,000 cash grant towards new headshots or acting classes.

ABFF Turner TV Writing Contest


There will be 2 grand prize winners. Each winner will win a trip to the 2017 ABFF, a cash prize of $500 and a meeting with Turner Original Programming executives.