2017 ABFF Documentary Competition

TELL THEM WE ARE RISING: The Story of Black Colleges and Universities

95 min

FRI 6/16 | 10:00 AM | LOEWS HOTEL

movie still

A haven for Black intellectuals, artists and revolutionaries-and path of promise toward the American dream – Black colleges and universities have educated the architects of freedom movements and cultivated leaders in every field. They have been unapologetically Black for 150 years. For the first time ever, their story is told.

Director: Stanley Nelson | Writer: Marcia Smith | Producers: Cyndee Readdean, Stacey L. Holman, Marco Williams


54 min

FRI 6/16 | 1:00 PM | LOEWS HOTEL

movie still

MILWAUKEE 53206 chronicles the lives of those affected by incarceration in America’s most incarcerated ZIP code. Through the intimate stories of three 53206 residents, we witness the high toll mass incarceration takes on individuals and families that make-up the community. The film not only examines Milwaukee’s ZIP code 53206, but also illuminates the story of people from across the United States who live with the daily effects of mass incarceration.

Director: Keith McQuirter | Exec Producer: CarolAnne Dolan, Nick Stuart | Producer: Adam Miller, Katie Taber | Cast: Beverly Walker, Chad Wilson, Dennis Walton, Muhibb Dyer


74 min

FRI 6/16 | 3:20 PM | LOEWS HOTEL

movie still

A multi-part documentary series chronicling the ascent and realization of Eclipsed; a Broadway play written, directed and acted by all women of African descent. Inspirational and sobering, the series documents the fearless women using art to combat social injustice and give voice to the voiceless. This series captures history in the making and the courageous women standing center stage.

Writer and Director: Collins Harris IV | Executive Producer: Ava L. Hall, Michael D. Armstrong | Producer: Collins Harris IV, Michaela Angela Davis, Stephen Byrd , Alia Jones-Harvey, Tamara Scurlock Briggs | Cast: Danai Gurira, Saycon Sengbloh, Liesl Tommy, Akosua Busia, Zainab Jah, Lupita Nyong’o, Stephen C. Byrd, Alia Jones-Harvey, Clint Ramos, Cookie Jordan