2017 Award Winners

Eden Marryshow

Grand Jury Award Best Director

presented by Cadillac (Prize: $25,000)

Eden Marryshow – “Bruce”

Director: Eden Marryshow | Writer: Eden Marryshow, Jesse Marryshow | Exec Producer: Gene Pope, Sasha Lewis, and Eden Marryshow | Producer: Sasha Lewis, Cesa Pledger, and Eden Marryshow | Cast: Eden Marryshow, Jason Tottenham, Mlè Chester, Cesa Pledger

Ambition's Debt

2017 Grand Jury Award Best Narrative Feature

presented by Prudential (Prize: $5,000)

“Ambition’s Debt” – directed by Devin E. Haqq

Director: Devin E. Haqq | Writer: William Shakespeare (adapted by Devin E. Haqq) | Producer: Josh Wick, Devin E. Haqq, Brandt Adams, George Lyon, Tony Grocki | Cast: Nathan Darrow, Peter McRobbie, Kathleen Chalfant, Billy Eugene Jones, Carra Patterson, Pernell Walker

Amelia's Closet

2017 HBO Short Film Award

presented by HBO (Prize: $10,000)

“Amelia’s Closet” – written and directed by Halima Lucas

Writer and Director: Halima Lucas

Duain Richmond

2017 Star Project Winner

presented by NBCUniversal

Duain Richmond

Tim Folsome

2017 TV One Screenplay Competition Winner

presented by TV One (Prize: $5,000 and a production deal)

“Down for Whatever” – a drama written by Tim Folsome

Darrin Dortch, Derege Harding

2017 Turner TV Writing Contest Winners

presented by Turner

Darrin Dortch “Short Changed” (Comedy)

Derege Harding “Fulfillment” (Drama)


2017 Best Web Original

presented by Xfinity (Prize: $2,500)

Brooklyn.Blue.Sky – created by Rhavynn Drummer and Dui Jarrod

Creators: Rhavynn Drummer, Dui Jarrod | Writers: Rhavynn Drummer, Dui Jarrod | Directors: Rhavynn Drummer, Dui Jarrod | Producers: Rhavynn Drummer , Dui Jarrod, Antwan Jones, Patrick Ryan Morris | Principle Cast: Jenelle Simone Valle, Michael Oloyede, LA Rivers, Roland Lane, Maggie Bell Caplis, Adiagha Faizah, Nicollete Ellis, Shannon Wallace, Ahni Bright, Donovan Christie Jr., Briana Swann-Christie


2017 Comedy Wings Winner

presented by HBO


Andrea Laing and Megan Thomas

NBC TV Hosting Workshop Winners

presented by NBCUniversal Cable Entertainment

Andrea Laing & Megan Thomas